Monday Escape: Signs In Doors

The Utica-Sertoma Velvet Ice Cream Festival

You probably remember my post about the Velvet Ice Cream Festival in Utica. While standing in line waiting for some of Velvet’s delicious ice cream, I, of course, was ceaselessly looking for things to photograph. One of them was this guide-dog-friendly sign.

Pinning to this page is okay. Photo copyright Jen Baker/Liberty Images; all rights reserved.

“Three Is My Lucky Number”

Pinning to this page is okay. Photo copyright Jen Baker/Liberty Images; all rights reserved.

“Five Star” East Liverpool, Ohio

Now, first of all, I thought it was nice of Velvet to allow the blind their guide dogs (though the question of how a blind person would see this did occur to me—perhaps this is meant more to remind customers that actual service dogs are a real thing than to reassure the blind in need of such an animal—I’m not trying to be flippant, either).

But it is also an attractive, neat sign, set into the corner of the door’s window in front of the mill’s thick stone wall visible through the glass, and everything is just worn enough. Plus the colours are nice, I think, and the visible grain running up the right side of the frame adds needed texture there.

This is hardly my best ‘just looking around for something to shoot’ photograph, but I am happy with it—and I’d rather be considering and composing shots than just standing around, doing nothing.

 

I have to be honest, I’ve not been able to get out nearly as much as I’d like to do some shooting because we’re doing things around the house as we are looking to put it on the market next spring, God willing. (The creek is far enough away that we’re not too concerned about its rising.) Of course, like (I suspect) the majority of photographers, I’ve many hundred photographs on the hard drive to keep me MORE than busy, including about 300 from the Goodguys Nationals a couple of weeks ago (that will be reduced significantly by the time I finish going through the last culling).

Thank Goodness!As the other photos in this post show, doors are and have always been great places for one to advertise!

General Store

2 thoughts on “Monday Escape: Signs In Doors

  1. Very true (re: the sign perhaps being more for the sake of full sighted patrons than the blind themselves), though of course not all folks affected by vision loss are 100% blind, so it’s possible that some could make out the sign or at least elements of it if they were up close. Guide dogs are used by many others with disabilities and medical issues as well, so I’m sure it’s helpful for them to know as well that their loyal canine helpers are welcome there as well. Whatever the case, it is a lovely sign as well and one that more businesses should actively put out on display to help make those with travel with helper pets feel instantly welcome.

    Beautiful signs and photographs across the board, dear Jen. I especially love the last door in particular – those aged, yet rich, colours are strikingly fantastic.

    ♥ Jessica

    • Thank you, Jessica! You make a really good point. I do know of someone who has a canine assistant, and the dog opens doors, picks up dropped items, and so forth—it is probably the “Guide” part that really got me. Still, like you, seeing that sign and knowing such dogs are not going to be chased from the ice cream parlor made me quite happy, and it would be marvellous to see this sign more often. Perhaps businesses are afraid of being taken advantage of, though. It’s too bad they have to worry about a line like that being crossed.

Leave a Reply

