Monday Escape: Purple & Emerald

.

I’m still tickled over California Chrome’s Preakness victory Saturday. A horse racing fan since, for all intents and purposes, birth (when Mom married Dad in ’74, family joked that she loved Secretariat more than she did Dad!), I’ve been following Chrome’s progress since midwinter, when his name and handsome chestnut face began popping up in the Blood-Horse.

Merc-O-Matic

Once my favourite Derby pick, A.P. Indy’s son Honor Code, was injured & went off the trail, I went with Chrome—to the point that in the week before the Derby, I turned his silks into my pedi. You might say I’m passionate about the sport (you should have seen my Afleet Alex pedi in ’05).

In Mom's Garden

The story of the horse, his owners, his trainer, his jockey is so wonderful, it’s unsurprising that Chrome has captured the public imagination. It’s the sort of feel-good, normal-folk-make-grand story Hollywood rejects today but loved during the 30s and 40s—but it’s real life!

Green Bands
At any rate, due to my happiness, I thought I’d share purple & green photos today. Why not?

.

One thought on “Monday Escape: Purple & Emerald

  1. Gorgeous images one and all. I adore the small details in life, no matter if they’re man made or crafted in Mother Nature’s workshop. They were, and still, are a huge part of what has always drawn me to taking photos myself, too. This post puts me in the mood (all the more) for our town’s annual classic car show in June. My health has very kindly cooperated and allowed me to attend for the past to twos. Fingers crossed that we go for a hat trick this year! 🙂

    ♥ Jessica

Leave a Reply

