Monday Escape: A taste of Route 66 in northeastern New Mexico

Unknown abandoned motor court, Route 66, NM, USA. Photo copyright Jen Baker/Liberty Images; all rights reserved.

“Empty Row”
Unknown abandoned motor court in New Mexico along Route 66. This is just one building that makes of the remains of a small town (which I believe is Newkirk).

Last week an acquaintance heading out on the road asked for some advice on what was worth visiting in northeastern New Mexico. Of course I suggested the Blue Hole in Santa Rosa and Route 66 ghost and almost-ghost towns like Cuervo, San Jon, and Glenrio, as well as the neon and vintage motel heaven that is Tucumcari (where everyone should stay at the Safari).

Palomino Motel, Route 66, Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA. Photo copyright Jen Baker/Liberty Images; all rights reserved.

The Palomino Motel in Tucumcari.

This of course kept New Mexico on my mind all weekend, especially since we barely made it to Santa Rosa last trip out, and I’ve not seen nearly as much of the state as I’d like (though my suspicion is I’ve not enough days left on this earth to see all of it that I’d like—can I get an ‘amen’?).

TePee Curios, Tucumcari, Route 66, USA. Photo copyright Jen Baker/Liberty Images; all rights reserved.

Teepee Curios in Tucumcari.

My hope is to hit the road again next year so I can complete my Route 66 documentary project. We’ll see! But in the meantime, I hope you’ve enjoyed this (very) brief taste of the northeastern leg of 66 in New Mexico.

Route 66, New Mexico. Photo copyright Jen Baker/Liberty Images; all rights reserved.

“Back East”
No, no, I want to keep heading west!

3 thoughts on “Monday Escape: A taste of Route 66 in northeastern New Mexico

  1. Amazing how history can be lost to the ages even in our own time. Tumbleweeds and dust…so sad. Love those old neon signs though, each one is like a little work of art.

  2. Tucumcari has the BEST neon signs evahhhhhhhh!!!! Great pictures!!! I was going kind crazy taking pics with our old Land Camera when we were there….I got one of the Tepee Curios too. I will be doing a post on those pics sometime in the near future….this coming Thursday I have a post on other kitschy pics I took with the Land camera, you should check it out if you have the time.

Leave a Reply

